South Africa: Apartheid to Democracy: Online Sources

PRIMARY SOURCES
When historians talk about evidence, they often mean primary sources. Primary sources (diaries, letters, speeches, newspaper accounts, artifacts, etc. created during the time period being studied) can offer rich and unique insights into your topic.  Thousands of primary documents have been digitized and can be found online on university, government and museum websites.  The Bentley Library also has collections of these documents in printed source books.

• Digital Innovation South Africa (DISA)
  DISA is a freely accessible online scholarly resource focusing on the socio-political history of South Africa, particularly the struggle for freedom during the period from 1950 to the first democratic elections in 1994.
• African National Congress
  Main website of the ANC. Includes documents, publication, and congress proceedings.
• South African Communist Party (SACP) Website
  Main website for the SACP. Includes publications, historical documents, congress proceedings, and more.
• Congress of South African Trade Unions (COSATU) Website
  Main website of the COSATU. Includes publications, press information, and other documents dating back to the 1990s.
• South African Digital Collections
  A list of over 30 digital repositories dealing with South Africa and South African history complies by the University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg.
• Overcoming Apartheid Building Democracy (Michigan State University Collection)
  Presents first-hand accounts of this important political movement. Interviews with South African activists, raw video footage documenting mass resistance and police repression, historical documents, rare photographs, and original narratives tell this remarkable story.
• Apartheid South Africa, 1948-1980
  Edited primary resources on  the Apartheid Era-  Includes some report literature from the National Archives, UK
• Struggles for Freedom in South Africa (ALUKA)
  Consists of more than 180,000 pages of documents and images, including periodicals, nationalist publications, records of colonial government commissions, local newspaper reports, personal papers.
• Anti-Apartheid Movement Archives
  Forward to Freedom: the History of the British Anti-Apartheid Movement, 1959-1994
• National Security Archive

  Includes the "Velvet Revolution Declassified", The Revolutions of 1989, and other primary source, declassified documents