Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

History Seminar Research Paper Guide: Step 2a Bibliography

Works Cited help

Use NoodleTools to create your works cited.  Enter the information about your source and NoodleBib will correctly format it in Chicago style. 

  1.  Login to you Bentley School gmail account. Make sure you are looking at your mail (not google drive).  
  2. Click on the "waffle" in the upper right side of the screen for apps.  Scroll down the menu or click "more" until you see the NoodleTools icon
  3. Click on the icon - it takes you directly to NoodleTools.
  4. If this is your first time in this year, click "Create a New Account" and follow the directions on screen​

Once you have your account:

  • Click “Create a New Project” in green on the left.undefined
  • Choose "Chicago" for the citation style and "Advanced" for the level.
  •  Enter the title of your project. e.g. “History Project”
  • On the next screen click "Sources" at the top, then "New Source" in green on the upper left. undefined
  • On the Sources page select where you got your source (hint: if you are doing a Gale reference source use reference source then click database on the top bar) then choose what type of source it is.Click Submit after filling in as many boxes as you can OR cutting and pasting! undefined
  • To Add another citation you would again select "New Source" from the box on the top left.  This is a working bibliography and you may add more citations to it in the future.
  • If asked by your teacher, click “Share” on the "dashboard" of the project main page.  After entering your name, choose your teachers last name and your class period as the dropbox.  You must do this in order to receive credit!!**
  • Your “works cited” will be saved on the NoodleBib site for 1 year 

QUESTIONS? -- Ask Ms. Bogas sbogas@bentleyschool.org

Annotated bibliographies

Annotated Bibliographies

 

An annotation is evaluative. It is a judgment about the value of the resource as it pertains to the researcher’s inquiry. It describes the researcher’s personal experience using this resource to answer a specific question, and provide evidence that supports a thesis statement. An annotation is typically 150 words or less. The following is a list of things to consider when writing an annotation. It is recommended that only 3-4 items from the list below be discussed in any one annotation.

 

Authority: 

Authority, experience, or qualifications of the author

Purpose

Why did the author write this?

Scope

Breadth or depth of coverage (Is this work very in-depth? Does it cover a wide range of topics?), topics included, etc.

Audience:

For whom was it written (general public, subject specialists, students…)?

Viewpoint:

What is the author’s perspective or approach (school of thought, etc.)? Do you detect an unacknowledged bias, or find any undefended assumptions?

Sources

Does the author cite other sources? Is it based on the author’s own research? Is it personal opinion? …

Conclusion

What does the author conclude. Is the conclusion justified by the work?

Features

Any significant extras, e.g. visual aids (charts, maps, etc.), reprints of source documents, an annotated bibliography

Comparison

How does it relate to other works on the topic: does it agree or disagree with another author or a particular school of thought; are there other works which would support or dispute it? (How to Write)

Reliability

How do you know it is reliable source? Is it straight-up news reporting or is it an opinion piece (blog, column, OP-ED)?

Currency

How up-to-date is the resource?

Relevance:

To what extent does the resource meet your research needs?

Chicago Style help

Annotated Bibliography help