Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Using Historical Newspapers
Historical newspapers provide you with:
- Primary sources for a specific region or time
- Views of that time era's culture
- Details of local history
- Reflection of community growth
Online Historical Newspaper Access
Chronicling America Source: Library of Congress
Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1924
Google News Archive Source: Google
Some of the news archives date back to 1700s
American Civil War Newspapers Source: Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University
The goal of the American Civil War Newspapers database is to select a representative group of journals to index, with digital images of the newspapers themselves, for use by students and scholars. The newspapers selected will be a representative sampling of Union and Confederate, urban and small town, Eastern and Western, pro- and anti-administration.
Internet Archive Newspaper Collection Source: Internet Archive
The newspapers in this collection have been scanned as part of a pilot project using microfilm and microfiche. After using a microfilm/fiche scanner to create a digital image of each page, we process the resulting images so that each reel is contained in a single item with easily navigable files.
California Digital Newspaper Collection Source: University of California Riverside
1,500,000 pages of significant historical California newspapers published from 1846-present, including the first California newspaper, the Californian, and the first daily California newspaper, the Daily Alta California.
New York Times Historical Newspapers available through San Francisco Public Library (see Ms. Bogas for access)
San Francisco Chronicle Historical Newspapers available through San Francisco Public Library (see Ms. Bogas for access)
NewspaperCat (U.S. and Caribbean) A University of Florida project that seems to have ingested all the U.S. and Caribbean newspapers and made them searchable by title, language and place of publication.
List of Online Newspapers by State
Interested in viewing all newspapers available online for California or for another state? All of these articles are full-text. This site is sponsored by University of Pennsylvania.
Historical African American Newspapers available by chronology
LIFE Magazine Photo Archive Hosted by Google, this digital archive has over 110 years of images published in Life Magazine.