Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Gilded Age: Online Sources

Primary Sources - Custom Search Engine

PRIMARY SOURCES
When historians talk about evidence, they often mean primary sources. Primary sources (diaries, letters, speeches, newspaper accounts, artifacts, etc. created during the time period being studied) can offer rich and unique insights into your topic.  Thousands of primary documents have been digitized and can be found online on university, government and museum websites.  The Bentley Library also has collections of these documents in printed source books.

American History Primary Sources Custom Search Engine

Primary sources from Salem

Salem History: Milestone Documents in American History

  • Scroll and select "Milestone Documents in American History."  Complete a "Keyword" search on your topic (for example, Plessy v. Ferguson or Chinese Exclusion Act).  Look in the box on the left to cite, email or print. 

Historical Magazines

See Ms. Bogas if you want a primary source item from a Gilded Age Magazine - specifically to search either of the following:

  • The Cosmopolitan; a Monthly Illustrated Magazine (1886-1907) full text  (Hathi trust)

 

Historical Newspapers

DATABASES - SECONDARY AND PRIMARY SOURCES

U.S. History in Context (Gale) - The Gilded Age (includes books, journal articles, primary sources, images, and more!)

The Gilded Age and Progressive Era Reference Library (full text, searchable book from Gale with many primary sources

Gilded Age Timeline from American History Onine (Infobase)

American History Online (Infobase)

Issues & Controversies in Amerian History (Infobase)

Interstate Commerce Act a secondary AND primary source from Issues & Controversies in American History (Infobase)

The Gilded Age overview article from The Encyclopedia of the Age of Revolution and Empire (1750-1900)

Platform of the Populists from Social Policy: Essential Primary Sources

 

Gilded Age ebooks

Family and Daily Life in the Gilded Age from The Handbook to Life in America: 1870 to 1900 by Rodney P. Carlisle, General Editor | ePub | Published Date 2016

Britannica Image Quest

Britannica Image Quest (for password, see Ms. Bogas or look in the back of your planner!)

Magazines from the Gilded Age (ONLINE!)

Harper's Weekly This paper was one of the most popular publications in America during the late 1800’s. Many images.  This link is for issues from 1878 - 1916

McClure's  This link is for 1893 - 1914

Collier's Weekly This link is for 1899 - 1922
Collier's Weekly  This link is for 1901 - 1956

The Cosmopolitan  This link is for 1886 - 1925

Atlantic Monthly

Godey's Lady's Book

 

Trusted Websites

Digital History Gilded Age great primary source materials

Digital Public LIbrary of America- great source for primary images

‚ÄčThe Gilded Age - America's Story from the Library of Congress 

The Gilded Age and the Gritty  great primary sources from the National Humanities Center

 The Gilded Age from PBS