Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Bentley Lower School Library: Source Checking Resources

Welcome to the Hiller Library

Lesson Plans

Title

Source

Summary

Debunking Health and Wellness Myths in the News

Carrie Snyder-Renfro

Students analyze digital media and determine if it is reliable for wellness decision making by analyzing a variety of resources, including videos and infographics. Students also create or use digital objects such as visualizations or models. Includes handouts and a media rubric.

Ethical Photo Editing (Personal, Professional, Journalistic)

Troy Hicks

Students discern their own standards for photo editing in personal, professional and journalistic concepts by thinking critically about the purpose of photo editing, a photo’s intended audience. This lesson puts student media-making front and center to connect media literacy theory to practice.

Stop the Fake News Cycle

Mariana Garcia-Serrato

Students analyze digital media and determine its credibility and reliability using a variety of resources, including video, handouts, and an online game. Includes all materials and an assessment rubric.

A Picture is Worth a Thousand--Questions

Sara Stewart-Lediard

Students practice strategies for fact-checking images, including lateral reading, reverse-image searching and close viewing. Includes clear guided and independent practice on introductory image analysis skills. Students create media to teach peers what they’ve learned.

When Seeing is Not Believing

Beth Evans

Students describe and evaluate photographs and debate their validity. Includes sentence frames as well as a reflection activity.  

 

Resources to Use With Students (websites, handouts, videos, etc.)

Name/title

Source

Resource Type

Summary

 

News bias comparison websites

Both sites analyze news sources for bias. Allsides.com features a side-by-side look at headlines that can be eye-opening (and is sometimes not sensational. Also a lesson…)

 

Fact-checking sites

These are the top three fact-checking sites. Politifact even won the Pulitzer Prize!

Document Analysis Worksheets

National Archives

Worksheets

Students can use these worksheets for analyzing a variety of media. Separate worksheets for photographs, documents, maps, videos, etc.

Evaluating a News Article

EasyBib

Infographic

This infographic clearly points out things to check for and question in order to evaluate the credibility of an online article.

Product Placement

Mariana Garcia-Serrato

(MS STEM teacher)

Worksheet

Mariana created this video-filled Google Doc to help students analyze product placement in movies and TV.

Critical Thinking Cheat Sheet

Global Digital Citizen Foundation

Infographic (handout)

A colorful guide with a list of questions for analyzing information

What IS a Reliable Source?

KQED Education

Interactive Google slides

Summarizes the factors that make a source reliable. Includes interactive slides and a quiz.  

Is THIS Source Reliable?

KQED Education

Google slides

Takes students through the steps of lateral reading.

How Do I Search for Relevant Sources?

KQED Education

Google slides

Helps students unpack the steps of searching for information online

Top 4 Tips To Spot Bad Science Reporting

KQED

Video

This episode from “Above the Noise” provides students with tips to help recognize bad science news.

Why Do Our Brains Love Fake News?

KQED

Video

This episode from “Above the Noise” breaks down the research about why our brains make us believe fake news is real.

Observation Challenge

First Draft News

Online game

Players identify the location of an image based on visual clues

International Fact-Checking Day

Poynter

Event

This site provides a lesson plan for you and your students to participate in International Fact-Checking Day on April 2.

Articles, Teacher Resources and More

Title

Source

Summary

The Sift weekly newsletter

News Literacy Project

A weekly round-up and treasure trove of media literacy, fact-checking and fake-news-debunking resources. Most arrive ready for immediate classroom use!

Fake News: Wide Reach But Little Impact

The New York Times

The first study of fake-news consumption finds that the problem was widespread. But that all readers consumed more real news than fake during the run-up to the 2016 election.

Understanding Bias

American Press Institute

This article looks at how bias can be both good and bad, and discusses how journalists need to be conscious of bias and learn how to manage it. Includes a list of types of biases.

Savvy Info Consumers: Detecting Bias in the News

University of Washington Libraries

This webpage has a guide for recognizing different kinds of bias and includes examples from the news that you could use with students.

The 12 Cognitive Biases That Prevent You From Being Rational

Gizmodo

An overview of types of cognitive bias that trip us up. Pairs well with KQED’s Above the Noise media resources on confirmation bias.

Developing a “Healthy” Skepticism of Media Claims

KQED Education

Science educator Tom McFadden shares activities from his middle school classroom that helps his student build skills to analyze health news.

We Tracked Down A Fake-News Creator In The Suburbs. Here's What We Learned

NPR

This is an article (from Nov. 2016) about one person who is behind a plethora of fake news sites. In an interview, he describes his motivation behind creating fake news and his views on its impact.

Understanding Types of Evidence: A Guide for Educators

Mathematica Center for Improving Research Evidence

Outlines the types of evidence (i.e.: personal anecdote, descriptive evidence, etc.) and includes examples of each.

Web Literacy for Student Fact-Checkers

E-book by Michael A.Caulfield

A full-length e-book provides a clear overview of fact-checking moves, including a deeper look at lateral reading and lots of handy how-tos (Ex: How to verify a Twitter identity, How to find old newspaper articles, etc.)

 

What did we forget? Email kilyin to add “greatest hits” to this doc.