It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Students in 3rd-5th grade will be completing the self-paced tutorial, "K-8 Intro to Computer Science" as their Hour of Code activity for Computer Science Education week.
More Beginner's Resources to Learn Programming Languages
HTML & CSS
HTML & CSS Reference: This is a compendium of basic articles on the most important HTML and CSS topics for would-be “desktop publishers.”
Learning HTML for Kids: Kids can learn HTML, too! These pages offer a kid’s-eye view of the most important tags and other topics in HTML.
HTML at Khan Academy: Khan Academy is one of the leading places online to find free educational video content. It includes a number of HTML courses.
Learn HTML & CSS at Codecademy: Codecademy provides a large number of interactive, free courses on programming within your browser, including one on HTML.
Free HTML & CSS Tutorials: This tutorial, developed by a leading author on computer topics, will walk you through the process of designing your first HTML page.
HTML Beginner Tutorial: Here, you’ll find nearly a dozen chapters that serve as a detailed, free introduction to HTML.
W3Schools Free Tutorial: W3Schools is the site that programming professionals use to get an introduction to different coding languages. This particular tutorial covers HTML.
HTML & CSS Basics: Here, you’ll find concise, but effective tutorials on HTML, CSS, and some of the most sought-after “advanced” design elements.
Learn CSS Layout: This interactive, browser-based experience will guide you through the important elements of a CSS file.
Learn CSS: This snapshot of CSS basics also links to a number of great resources you can use to take your CSS learning further.
Official jQuery Site: This is the official site of jQuery. It has news and information related to the latest version, as well as resources you can use to learn.
The jQuery Foundation: The jQuery Foundation is the nonprofit organization that champions jQuery development. It sponsors annual conferences that can help jQuery users enhance their skills.
The jQuery Cheat Sheet: This site expresses the syntax of virtually all jQuery tools in an easy-to-read format. It’s cross-linked with official documentation to explain each concept.
jQuery Fundamentals: This is an online tutorial that combines explanations and exercises to help you get used to jQuery fast.
Free jQuery Tutorial: In just a single page, you’ll learn all kinds of information about jQuery by developing a simple script and seeing it in action.
jQuery Selectors (PPT): Selectors are among the most important jQuery topics you need to understand to succeed. This presentation focuses on their use and value.
Intro to jQuery Mobile: The mobile implementation of jQuery makes it an ideal solution for smartphone and tablet applications. On this page, you’ll learn more about it.
The jQuery Mobile Tutorial: Want to bring jQuery mobile? This site will help you do it through learning resources that incorporate the programming needs of mobile technology.
Do More With jQuery (PPT): The jQuery library is intended to help you save time while you code. This presentation explores the ways in which it does so.
Scripting Pages in jQuery Mobile: Ready to dive deep into the secrets of using jQuery on mobile? This is a detailed tutorial that tackles some of the most complex topics involved.
Learning PHP: Get acquainted with the basic functions of PHP on this site and you’ll also find a number of useful “cheat sheets” to get your learning started.
Getting Started With PHP: Here, you’ll uncover the official documentation for PHP. Everything there is to know about developing your first interactive PHP page starts here.
Interactive PHP Tutorial: As you work through this interactive tutorial in your browser, you’ll progress from the simplest PHP scripts to much more complex ones.
Intro to Basic PHP: This single-page guide serves as a basic reference to all of the most fundamental PHP topics, going from the simplest to the most advanced as you scroll.
PHP Code Reference Library: Here, you can learn about important concepts such as variables, operators, data types, and conditional logic as they function in PHP.
PHP the Right Way: This is the home of a free online book that has been translated into dozens of languages and provides a comprehensive introduction to PHP.
PHP Buddy: This thorough learning resource includes a “Quick Start Guide” as well as detailed articles on installing PHP and using helpful scripts.
Why Learn PHP?: Why should you learn PHP? This site will help you understand just how versatile PHP is and where it fits in on the World Wide Web.
Index of PHP Classes: PHP “classes” can fundamentally alter the behavior of your program. This site is a directory of free classes you can integrate within your own code.
Learn Python the Hard Way: This is the free, HTML version of a leading book that focuses on learning the Python language. It’s packed with information, tips, and exercises.
Free Interactive Python Tutorial: This tutorial will take you step-by-step through a series of exercises using Python code that you type directly into your Web browser of choice.
Getting Started With Python: The official Python website offers free learning resources for programmers who are new to Python as well as for people who have never coded before.
PythonLearn Free Materials: These learning materials, including code examples and videos, allow you to learn Python alone, with or without the textbook they’re based on.
Python for Everybody: With this massive online course, you have the opportunity to get the complete experience of learning Python through a university-level introduction.
Learn Python, Break Python: This free, online book provides a comprehensive bird’s-eye view of the Python programming language, replete with plenty of examples.
Crash Into Python: Want to learn Python in a weekend? This is an accessible introduction to all the basic functions you need to know to get started.
Best Python Resources: Full Stack Python is a well-established Python site that offers dozens of tutorials divided into “new to programming” and “new to Python” flavors.
Dive into Python: This free book focuses particularly on the challenges that programmers familiar with other languages might face when migrating to Python.
Interactive Python Textbook: This online book not only provides a solid grounding in the fundamentals of Python, but also helps new coders to think in computer science terms.
Learn Ruby the Hard Way: With this free online book, readers will learn all the foundational concepts of Ruby by typing up increasingly challenging exercises.
RubyMonk: RubyMonk is a leading Ruby learning site where visitors decode Ruby challenges in a straightforward, browser-based interface.
Ruby Quickstart: This guide comes from the official site of the Ruby language and is tied into its comprehensive documentation.
Try Ruby: Want to see what Ruby can do? This site will walk you through some Ruby basics that you’ll see demonstrated right in your browser.
I Want to Learn Ruby: This page lists a number of the most popular Ruby learning resources, including several where you can build entire websites from scratch.
Ruby Koans: With Ruby Koans, users are challenged to use a “test-first” approach to uncover the answers to real Ruby programming challenges and learn the basics of the language.
Ruby on Rails Tutor: This tutorial reveals the basics of Ruby on Rails and how it relates to Ruby, giving you the background you need to create your first site.
Ruby Style Guide: Ruby, like others languages, has certain conventions programmers use to make their code readable. Top members of the Ruby community have come together to document many of these conventions here.
The Ruby Game: On this site, people play “The Ruby Game” by competing to complete various Ruby coding tasks the fastest or in the fewest lines of code.
TestFirst Teaching: This content delves deeper into the “test first” methodology for developing Ruby code that performs the way you expect it to. Before trying out these exercises, it’s important to have installed Ruby.
Learning Ruby: This is a large-scale guide to all of the major concepts found in Ruby. Although it is based on an earlier version of the codebase, it is free and all of the core commands and principles still apply.
Introduction to Databases
What do you do when you need to find information? More than likely, people go online and use Google. Google is a search engine that is good for getting general information. Though, it will take a lot of time to figure out if the information is credible or factual and figure out who created the website that put the information out there. Databases are NOT websites!
Databases are collections information that libraries pay for to provide access for students to use. The information on databases is updated regularly and verified, so you know that the information is accurate. Library databases have information that is written at an appropriate reading level for students.
Databases By Subject
Encyclopedias, General Reference, Dictionaries
Britannica Online - Very reputable general encyclopedia, good for answering questions and finding authoritative information for reference. (bentley / Ktwelve)
Britannica Image Quest- Access more than two million rights-cleared images from over 50 of the best collections in the world. The first place to go for images for any project. (bentley / Ktwelve)
Reviews and includes apps that they feel are the “best apps for kids”. A lot of that is subjective. As apps, technology and competition changes some apps that were 5 star apps will no longer be the “best of the best”. Always look for the most recent reviews.
Lets kids aged six to 11 search jungles, deserts, woods and other vivid 3-D environments; flap their “wings” and fly like a bat; “see” how sound waves help bats find food; and much more. . . . A true innovation in children’s publishing. It’s a wonderful original nonfiction book and a new kind of reading adventure for children.
If you're looking for a fun app to encourage your young one to read more look no further. This app combines reading, comprehension and gaming all in one! Each bundle consist of 10 stories based on the well loved Aesop's Fables. After each story, there is a comprehension quiz for readers to engage in.
Engages and educates little readers from birth to 8 years old with our “read anywhere” library of e-books. Each of our classic and original titles feature rich illustrations, read-along narration and word highlighting