Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The bounty by
Call Number: 811.54 W156b
NOBEL PRIZE FOR LITERATURE 1992 "The Bounty opens with the title poem, a memorable elegy to Walcott's mother. It also contains a haunting series of poems evoking the poet's native ground, the island of St. Lucia."--
The prodigal by
Call Number: 811.54 W156p
The Prodigal is a journey through physical and mental landscapes, from Greenwich Village to the Alps, Pescara to Milan, Germany to Cartagena. But always in "the music of memory, water," abides St. Lucia, the author's birthplace, and the living sea. In his new work, Derek Walcott has created a sweeping yet intimate epic of an exhausted Europe studded with church spires and mountains, train stations and statuary, where the New World is an idea, a "wavering map," and where History subsumes the natural history of his "unimportantly beautiful" island home.
Invisible man by
Call Number: FIC ELL
Invisible Manis a milestone in American literature, a book that has continued to engage readers since its appearance in 1952. A first novel by an unknown writer, it remained on the bestseller list for sixteen weeks, won the National Book Award for fiction, and established Ralph Ellison as one of the key writers of the century. The nameless narrator of the novel describes growing up in a black community in the South, attending a Negro college from which he is expelled, moving to New York and becoming the chief spokesman of the Harlem branch of "the Brotherhood", and retreating amid violence and confusion to the basement lair of the Invisible Man he imagines himself to be. The book is a passionate and witty tour de force of style, strongly influenced by T.S. Eliot'sThe Waste Land, Joyce, and Dostoevsky.
The autobiography of Miss Jane Pittman by
Call Number: FIC GAI
In the epic of Miss Jane Pittman, a 110-year-old ex-slave, the action begins with Confederate and Union troops invading the plantation on which she lives and ends with demonstrations and the freedom walk of the 1960's
Salvation : Black people and love by
Call Number: 306.7 HOO
Acclaimed visionary and intellectual Bell Hooks began her exploration of the meaning of love in American culture with the bestselling All About Love: New Visions. Here she continues her love song to the nation in the groundbreaking and soul-stirring Salvation: Black People and Love. Whether talking about the legacy of slavery, relationships and marriage in Black life, the prose and poetry of our most revered artists and leaders, the liberation movements of the 1950s, '60s, and '70s, or hip-hop and gangsta rap culture, hooks lets us know what love's got to do with it. Salvation is work that helps us heal -- and shows us how to create beloved American communities.
On My Journey Now by
Call Number: 782.25 GIO
Publication Date: 2007-02-13
A collection of eighty all new poems, ACOLYTES is distinctly Nikki Giovanni, but different. Not softened, but more inspired by love, celebration, memories and even nostalgia. She aims her intimate and sparing words at family and friends, the deaths of heroes and friends, favorite meals and candy, nature, libraries, and theatre. But in between, the deep and edgy conscience that has defined her for decades shines through when she writes about Rosa Parks, hurricane Katrina, and Emmett Till's disappearance, leaving no doubt that Nikki has not traded one approach for another, but simply made room for both.
The color purple : a novel by
Call Number: FIC WAL
Celie is a poor black woman whose letters tell the story of 20 years of her life, beginning at age 14 when she is being abused and raped by her father and attempting to protect her sister from the same fate, and continuing over the course of her marriage to "Mister," a brutal man who terrorizes her. Celie eventually learns that her abusive husband has been keeping her sister's letters from her and the rage she feels, combined with an example of love and independence provided by her close friend Shug, pushes her finally toward an awakening of her creative and loving self.
Everyday Use by
Call Number: 813 WAL
Publication Date: 1994-06-01
Oxford African American Studies Center
"the most comprehensive collection of scholarship available online to focus on the lives and events which have shaped African American and African history and culture."
U.S. History in Context
Use this link to find reference books, periodical articles, videos, audios, case overviews, primary sources and images about African Americans.
The Collier Companion to African American Writers by
Call Number: 810.9 SMI
Publication Date: 1993-10-01
An author and contributor to such reference works as Cavendish's profiles more than 145 authors of African heritage, from writers of early slave narratives through the Harlem Renaissance to the contemporary novel. Entries, many with illustrations, are listed by literary genre, literary movement/ subject matter/style, and individual's year of birth. The cover features W.E.B. DuBois, James Baldwin, Maya Angelou, and Alice Walker.
Encyclopedia of the Harlem Renaissance by
Call Number: REF 810.98 ABE
Publication Date: 2003-09-01
"Harlem Renaissance, includes entries on the major topics, authors and works of the period complete with reprinted full-text literary criticism. Volume 1 features an introduction and a descriptive chronology of events and entries on five major topics related to the movement. Volumes 2 and 3 include 33 entries on the major literary figures and their works from the period. These entries include a biographical/critical introduction, a complete bibliography of the author's works and full-text reprinted criticism about the author or individual works. The set also includes author, title and subject indexes; and more.
Joe Edgar Wideman
Hiding Place by
Call Number: FIC WID
Publication Date: 1981-01-01
Hoop Roots by
Call Number: 813.54 WID
Publication Date: 2001-10-10
Call Number: FIC WID
Publication Date: 1988-12-01
Call Number: 929 HAL
Publication Date: 1980-10-15
This poignant and powerful narrative tells the dramatic story of Kunta Kinte, snatched from freedom in Africa and brought by ship to America and slavery, and his descendants. Drawing on the oral traditions handed down in his family for generations, the author traces his origins back to the seventeen-year-old Kunta Kinte, who was abducted from his home in Gambia and transported as a slave to colonial America. In this account Haley provides an imaginative rendering of the lives of seven generations of black men and women.
I know why the caged bird sings by
Call Number: 818 ANG
In this first of five volumes of autobiography, poet Maya Angelou recounts a youth filled with disappointment, frustration, tragedy, and finally hard-won independence. Sent at a young age to live with her grandmother in Arkansas, Angelou learned a great deal from this exceptional woman and the tightly knit black community there. These very lessons carried her throughout the hardships she endured later in life, including a tragic occurrence while visiting her mother in St. Louis and her formative years spent in California--where an unwanted pregnancy changed her life forever.